Hospital Interior no people2.jpg

ACEP E-QUAL Celebrates Emergency Departments Named to Honor Roll

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)'s  Emergency Quality Network (E-QUAL) today congratulated the emergency departments named to the E-QUAL Honor Roll for exceptional performance in improving outcomes for sepsis patients, reducing avoidable imaging or reducing avoidable hospitalizations for patients with low-risk chest pain. 

The 96 emergency departments named to the E-QUAL Honor Roll participate in year-long learning collaboratives that include virtual quality improvement activities and sharing of performance data. The Honor Roll awardees are recognized for achievements over the course of the previous year.

“Emergency departments participating in E-QUAL are addressing some of the most vexing challenges in emergency medicine head-on by sharing information and creating momentum for practice transformation and quality improvement,” said Vidor Friedman, MD, FACEP, president of ACEP. “E-QUAL Honor Roll awardees are best-in-class emergency departments that are leading by example and making a difference in the lives of millions of patients.” 

  • As of June 2018, over 800 emergency departments and 27,000 emergency physicians have joined E-QUAL to participate in one of the following initiatives: 
  • Improving outcomes for sepsis patients by supporting early recognition and resuscitation in the ED
  • Reducing avoidable imaging by implementing ACEP’s Choosing Wisely recommendations
  • Improving the value of care for low-risk chest pain by reducing avoidable hospitalizations

E-QUAL Honor Roll: Sepsis Awardees

St. Mary Corwin Medical Center - Pueblo, Colo.
St. Peter's Hospital - Helena, Mont.
St. Cloud Regional Medical Center - St. Cloud, Fla.
Gulf Coast Medical Center - Southwest Florida Emergency Physicians - Fort Myers, Fla.
Cape Coral Hospital Emergency Department - Cape Coral, Fla.
IU Health Arnett - Indiana Emergency Care - Lafayette, Ind. 
IU White Memorial Hospital - Indiana Emergency Care - Monticello, Ind.
Orlando Regional Medical Center - Orlando Health - Orlando, Fla. 
South Lake Hospital - Orlando Health - Clermont, Fla.
South Seminole Hospital - Orlando Health - Longwood, Fla.
St. Mary's Hospital – Janesville - Madison, Wis.
St. Vincent Clay Hospital - Middleburg, Fla.
Harlingen Medical Center - Harlingen, Texas
Saint Vincent’s Medical Center Riverside - Jacksonville, Fla.
Beebe Medical Center - Lewes, Del.
Coffeyville Regional Medical Center - Coffeyville, Kan.
Lovelace Westside Hospital - Albuquerque, N.M.
McLaren-Greater Lansing Greenlawn Campus - Lansing, Mich.
Vista Medical Center East - Waukegan, Ill.
Wilmington Health Care Center - Wilmington, Mass.
Holy Name Medical Center, - Teaneck, N.J.
Sumner Regional Medical Center - Gallatin, Tenn.
AMITA Adventist Hinsdale Hospital - Hinsdale, Ill.

E-QUAL Honor Roll: Avoidable Imaging Awardees
North Mississippi Medical Center - Relias Healthcare of Tupelo - Tupelo, Miss.
Sharp Memorial Hospital - San Diego, Calif.
University of Virginia Health System - Charlottesville, Va.

E-Qual Honor Roll: Chest Pain Awardees
Lake Charles Memorial Hospital- Emergency Department - Lake Charles, La.
Cape Coral Hospital Emergency Department - Cape Coral, Fla. 
Foothills Hospital - Boulder Community Health - Boulder, Colo.
Sharp Memorial Hospital - San Diego, Calif.
Brunswick Freestanding Emergency Department Southwest General Hospital Health System - Brunswick, Ohio

The project described was supported by Funding Opportunity Number CMS-1L1CMS331479-04-00 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. The contents provided are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of HHS or any of its agencies. 

For more information visit

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) is the national medical society representing emergency medicine. Through continuing education, research, public education, and advocacy, ACEP advances emergency care on behalf of its 40,000 emergency physician members, and the more than 150 million people they treat on an annual basis. For more information, visit and

Contact: Steve Arnoff | | Twitter @EmergencyDocs

ACEP News Sepsis